“Why I AM Single”

annoyed-black-woman face

Do you ever get asked that one question that annoys every single the most? “Why are you single?” Sure, you do! I know that question irk my nerves than anything else especially when it comes from the people who are close to you.

So, to sum up mines and to help encourage you, I will explain why I am still single.

Well to be honest I AM Single by CHOICE!! If I really wanted to be in a relationship or be out here dating just for fun with no purpose, I would be in one. It’s not like I am a bad catch, like I cannot get a man. I just choose not to waste my time and my heart on a “nothing dude” and what I mean by that a “nothing dude” is dating someone with no purpose, just dating for fun and killing time. Nope, I can’t risk my valuable time and my heart. My heart is on reserve for the one God has for me. Singles, understand your worth. Stop wasting time by dating someone who isn’t willing to put a ring on it. Ladies, you deserve a ring, not a lifetime girlfriend. Men, you deserve more also, not to carry the title of a lifetime boyfriend. Stop settling if you desire more. Singleness is not a season to be waste. I stress this all the time, you have work to do in this season. God isn’t ready to release you just yet.

I remember when I got serious with God, when my heart was tired and exhausted of being broken. It was like, I couldn’t take it anymore and I knew God had more for me and I needed some real healing. I was tired of looking for a man to fill the void I was missing in my heart that could only be fulfilled by God. Singles, you must stop thinking your boo can heal you or make you feel better. The greatest healing, happiness, and love is found in Christ. Let God Complete you!

As I stated before, my heart was tired, and I wanted God’s best. I got serious and went to God in prayer and asked Him to hide me under His wings and keep me hidden until His best finds me. I also prayed for discernment to be able to identify those counterfeits. It’s crazy how God operates; if I meet someone and they aren’t the one God shuts it down before it goes anywhere. I am so grateful He does because I cannot be out here catching feelings for a man who isn’t God’s best for my life. I am so grateful for all the bullets I have dodged lately. I remember two years ago, I met a guy that I dated for a short time before God end it. God shut down game is strong in my life!  God saw the intentions of the guy. I ignored the red-flags. The relationship was headed in destruction, where he was pulling me away from God and my ministry slowly. To be honest, he didn’t support it, like I needed him to. I knew right then and there he wasn’t the one, but I was trying to make him the one. I know the man God has for me will support my ministry. To make a long story short, God end it and my feelings was hurt. But when I look back on it I am grateful He did.

There are times, I will find myself upset with God when I go periods of time not meeting anyone or questioning God why no one will approach me. God always reminds me; didn’t you tell me to keep you hidden until the one I have for you finds you. God reminds me those rejections are for my protection.

However, there are some things I am working on also within myself I would like to improve on. I want to make sure I am healed so I will not be bringing any extra baggage’s in my next relationship. It will not be fair for my future companion to pay for what my ex did or repair a damaged heart. Remember ladies, only God can repair your broken heart. I will say this all the time, when healing from a broken heart, you don’t heal overnight. It takes time.

Singles, I encourage you to work on YOU in this season and wait on God’s best. Don’t feel discourage because all your friends or the people you see on social media who are dating and posted up with their boo. How do you know if that relationship is a God thing? Some people pretend well, you are only on the outside looking in. You keep trusting and believing God for yours. It’s coming soon, but you can’t keep siting down watching your clock.

So, the next time someone tells you, “you are picky”, you tell them it is called PURPOSE. When you have a calling on your life you cannot be out here just dating anything or anyone that pass you by. It could cost your purpose.

In closing, singles I pray you will take heart and embrace singleness because it is a beautiful gift that God desires for us to embrace. Once you understand the true beauty you will take advantage of this season and realize you do not have to be out here dating like it is going out of style. I pray you have a change of heart and surrender this season to God and become single by choice instead of dating a random because you’re bored, lonely, desperate, vulnerable, or because everyone around you is dating. Know and Understand YOUR TRUE WORTH!!!!

Keep Embracing,

Collette C.

Leave a comment